top of page
Search
carinalyx16

Recipe comparison: Chocolate cake

Updated: Jul 7, 2020

Before I continue, I must say that I tend to prefer my cakes less sweet, so I've mostly had to reduce sugar levels for every chocolate cake recipe that I've done so far heh. I've noted down my recipe modifications and notes here for my own future reference, but I thought it might benefit some of you out there, so I decided to post it up here too.


Here are the three chocolate cake recipes that I tried:

  1. Devil's Food Cake by Glazed

  2. The Most Amazing Chocolate Cake by The Stay at Home Chef

  3. The Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Ever by Add a Pinch


And here is my ingredient comparison (modified to my preferred sweetness level)

The method for making these three recipes was exactly the same.

  1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

  2. In a large measuring cup, mix together milk and vinegar, give it a stir and let it sit for about 5 minutes, before adding oil, vanilla and eggs.

  3. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix to combine.

  4. In another measuring cup, measure out hot water and add coffee powder. Stir to dissolve, then add to batter and mix till fully combined.


Overall, all three recipes baked really decent chocolate cakes. I found that recipe 1 yielded the fluffiest and softest cake and kept moist slightly better, while recipe 2 and 3 were quite similar actually and had a more fudgey and intense chocolate flavour. On another random note, you would like to reduce the amount of sugar used without reducing the sweetness level, you could use less coffee powder and vice versa. However, you might lose some of that addition fragrance that the coffee powder brings.


I tried baking recipe 1 and 3 into three 6-inch cake pans, and both recipes rose similarly to give a big fat crack when baked lol so yes, the tops did need to be trimmed off anyway. Also, because recipe 1 was quite a bit softer than recipe 3, it did have a higher tendency to break when unmoulding while warm so extra care should be taken or alternatively just wait a little longer for the cake to cool before unmoulding.


Family's verdict: Mom loved recipe 1 the most, whereas my sis preferred recipe 3. Oh well, what to do, my family is hard to please haha xp I would probably do recipe 1 for chocolate cupcakes, but I'm still quite undecided on which recipe I would use for a cake.


On a side note, to convert the chocolate cake into a sea salt chocolate cake, I increased the salt to 1 tsp and found it a bit too subtle still so I might increase it a bit more in the future. I found that the saltiness was really distinct at about 2 tsp sea salt though, so that was definitely enough salt for me but I guess it depends who is eating the cake hahaha I've had friends who found 1 tsp too much and friends who found 2 tsp too little lol xp


In the meanwhile, happy baking! I'll update this post when I find a better chocolate cake recipe :)


Carina xx




117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page